BRANDON UNIVERSITY	Organizational Structure of the Faculty of Education	Approved by: Education Faculty Council
Faculty of Education	First Approved:	Updated:
Administrative Policy	January 2006	August 2016

## Faculty of Education Governance Structure (Revised June 3, 2016)

## Departments

**Five Departments:** Leadership and Educational Administration, Curriculum and Pedagogy, Educational Psychology and Student Services, Physical Education, Joint Department of Music Education [Elected Chairs]

## Committees

Education Faculty Council: All Education Faculty Members. [Chair – Dean]

**Undergraduate Education Committee:** (meets monthly) One representative from each department, Director of Field Experience, Director of Community-based Education, Dean (ex officio). [Chair – elected annually by committee]

Responsible for undergraduate programs, undergraduate admissions, etc.

**Research Committee:** (meets monthly) BU CARES Director, one representative from each department, Chair of graduate programs, Dean (ex officio). [Chair – elected annually by committee]

Responsible for coordinating and promoting research in the Faculty of Education.

**Graduate Education Committee:** (meets monthly) One representative from each graduate program area, BU CARES Director, Dean (ex officio). **[Chair – Chair of graduate programs]** *Responsible for graduate programs, graduate admissions, graduate student concerns.* 

**Education Faculty Advisory Committee:** (meets once per term) Chair of each department, Chair of graduate programs, Director of Community-based Education, Director of Field Experience, BU CARES Director, one rural and one urban superintendent, one rural and one urban principal, three teachers, MTS representative, graduate student representative, ESS representative, representative from Teacher Certification Unit, First Nations Representative. **[Chair – Dean]** 

**Undergraduate Student Advisory Committee:** (meets once per month) Two faculty members elected from faculty, three student representatives (one each from early, middle and senior years), Dean. [Chair – Chair of Undergraduate Education Committee] *Function: undergraduate student input.* 

**Graduate Student Advisory Committee:** (meets twice per term or more frequently if required) Two faculty members elected from faculty, four student representatives (one from each specialty area), Dean. [Chair – Chair of graduate programs] *Function: graduate student input.* 

## Procedures

Inquiries may be directed to the Office of the Dean of Education at <u>deanofed@brandonu.ca</u> or (204) 727-9616.

			Fac	ulty of Education		BU CARES – research office	
	Dean: Heather Duncan					Director: Michelle Lam	
Administrative Staff	Field Experience	PENT / CBE	Physical Education	Leadership & Ed Administration	Curriculum & Pedagogy	Educational Psychology & Student Services	
Celia Gray (Dean's assistant) Julie Ramos Strahl (undergrad assistant) Ina Schumacher (grad assistant)	Director: Bob Lee Support staff: Shannon Tomlinson	Director: John Minshull Support staff: Bernice Galvin	Chair: Schad Richea Faculty: James Bambury Lee Carter Jen Forbes Scott Forbes Gil Cheung Joel Krentz Russ Paddock Nancy Stanley Grant Wilson	Chair: Alysha Farrell Faculty: Heather Duncan Jackie Kirk Bob Lee John Minshull Tom Skinner Cathryn Smith Marion Terry	Chair: Candy Jones Faculty: Chris Beeman Matteo Di Muro Alysha Farrell Zahra Kasamali Michelle Lam Sandy Margetts Jill Morris Burcu Ntelioglou Tim Skuce Joe Stouffer Ellen Watson	Chair: Shelley Kokorudz Faculty: Aloysius Anyichie Chris Brown Patty Douglas Breanna Lawrence	

