Alumni Honoured for Career and Community Work

October 24, 2014

Dr. Michael Kim, Bruce Macdonald, Dr. Gervan Fearon, and Deb Carnegie at 2014 Homecoming Alumni Awards

by Glen Kirby

A lifelong Manitoban, career educator and tireless volunteer has been awarded Brandon University’s 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award for Community Service.

Bruce Macdonald grew up in Flin Flon, earned Bachelor Degrees in Science and Education from Brandon University (BU). and taught in Virden for 35 years. His interest in volunteerism began at an early age, after his father contracted polio and was not able to finish building the family home.

“I watched a service group finish building our home,” recalls Macdonald, “and that had a big impact on me. I would never forget that other people cared enough to help us out.”

Macdonald has been recognized locally, provincially, and nationally for his leading roles in community building and student leadership activities. He started Crime Stopper groups in nineteen Manitoba communities. He has dedicated countless hours to groups including Kinsmen, Lions, Virden and Area Fitness Co-op, Virden Employment Skills Centre, Virden’s Auditorium Theatre, and the Valleyview Co-op. Macdonald devoted himself to student extracurricular activities – Peer Helpers, TIPS, the Undergrad Committee, and the Grad Committee – and coached debating teams to national championships.

“Bruce Macdonald is a great believer in unshackling people’s potential,” says Deb Carnegie, President of the BU Alumni Association, and a former student of Macdonald’s. “He encourages the best from everyone, and is richly deserving of our Distinguished Alumni Award.”

Also presented with alumni awards at the 2014 Homecoming were:
Lana Myers –Exceptional Service
Don Thomson –Career Achievement
Dr. Jeffrey Tompkins – Distinguished Young Alumni
Dr. Ed Whitcomb –Wall of Fame

Brandon University, founded in 1899, promotes excellence in teaching, research, and scholarship; educating students so that they can make a meaningful difference as engaged citizens and leaders.


For more information, please contact:

Carla Eisler
Alumni Relations Officer

Glen Kirby
Communications Officer