Environmental Science Advisory Committee

This committee was established by Science Faculty Council in November 2009.

The current membership is:

  • Dr. Christopher Malcolm, Coordinator (to June 30, 2024)
  • Dr. Etsuko Yasui, Applied Disaster & Emergency Studies (to June 30, 2024)
  • Dr. David Greenwood, Biology (to June 30, 2024)
  • Dr. Terence McGonigle, Biology (July 1, 2024 to December 31, 2025)
  • Dr. Eric Bushnell, Chemistry (to May 31, 2026)
  • Dr. Dion Wiseman, Geography & Environment (to June 30, 2024)
  • Dr. Alireza Somarin, Geology (to December 31, 2024)

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference – Environmental Science Advisory Committee


The Environmental Science Advisory Committee (ESAC) was established as a standing committee of Science Faculty Council. The purpose of the ESAC is to work in collaboration with the Environmental Science coordinator on issues related to the development, implementation, and management of the Environmental Science program. If specific issues arise, subcommittees may be struck with invited participation from members (or designates) with appropriate areas of expertise.


The members will include:

  1. Environmental Science Coordinator
  2. One (1) representative from each of the following participating departments:
    • Applied Disaster & Emergency Studies
    • Biology
    • Chemistry
    • Geography
    • Geology

Terms of Office

Selection and term of office for the Environmental Science Coordinator is governed by the BUBUFA Collective Agreement. Representatives will normally be appointed for a three (3) year term, with the opportunity to renew for an additional three (3) years. To ensure continuity, terms should be staggered and someĀ  memberships renewed so that no more than half of the committee members change in a calendar year.


The committee will be chaired by the coordinator of the Environmental Science program.


Normally, the committee will meet monthly during the academic year


Each member other than the Chair shall have one vote, and the Chair will vote only to break ties.


The quorum is met with 50% (fifty per cent) of the ESAC members in attendance.

Evaluation of Terms of Reference

The terms of reference shall be reviewed annually at the commencement of each academic year and amendments made to reflect the current needs of the Environmental Science Advisory Committee.

Distribution of Agenda, Minutes and Reporting

The Chair will circulate an agenda to the committee at least one week prior to scheduled meetings. The minutes will be distributed to the Committee members and Dean of Science. As a standing committee of Science Faculty Council, the Chair of the ESAC will provide a report on the activities of the committee to Science Faculty Council.