Animal Care Committee

Animal Use Protocol Instructions and Policy Statement

The Brandon University Animal Care Committee (BUACC) follows the guidelines of the Canadian Council on Animal Care (CCAC), which require that all projects, including inter-institutional projects, whether of a demonstrational, teaching or research nature that involves animals have prior approval of the BUACC before being implemented.

For questions related to the BU animal care program, please contact the Chair of BUACC, Dr. Tammy McKenzie at mckenziet@brandonu.ca. For questions regarding the application process or using the forms, please contact the Administrative Officer to the Vice-President (Academic & Provost) and Research Ethics Officer, Mrs. Shannon Downey at downeys@brandonu.ca.

Submit an electronic copy of the completed application, including appropriate schedules where applicable, to buacc@brandonu.ca by the protocol deadline indicated below.

Application Deadline Meeting Date
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
 January 30, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
February 27, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
March 27, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
April 24, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
May 29, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
June 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
August 28, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
September 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
October 30, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
December 4, 2019

*Note:  there will be no meeting during the month of July or November.