BUBC Members

Position Name Term
Member who has experience in biohazards, from the Faculty of Science Dr. Michael Charette September 2017 – August 2020
Member from Applied Disaster & Emergency Studies (A-DES) Mr. Jack Lindsay September 2015 – August 2018
Member from the Faculty of Arts Dr. Emily Holland April 2017 – April 2020
Member from Physical Plant Mr. Gordon Neal September 2015 – September 2018
I.A. Representative from Faculty of Science Dr. Ellen Boudreau September 2017 – August 2020
Representative from Faculty of Health Studies Ms. Marcy Goetz September 2015 – August 2018
Office of Research Representative Ms. Kerry Murkin ex-officio
Institutional BioSafety Officer Ms. Denise Merrill ex-officio
Administrative Support Mrs. Shannon Downey n/a


  • One member who has experience in biohazards, from the Faculty of Science, recommended by the Dean of Science;
  • A member of ADES, recommended by the department and the Dean of Science;
  • A member from the Faculty of Arts, preferably an individual with experience handling biological materials, recommended by the Dean of Arts;
  • A member from Physical Plant, recommended by the Director of the Physical Plant;
  • A representative from the Instruction Associates from the Faculty of Science, recommended by the Dean of Science;
  • A representative from the Instructional Associates from the Faculty of Health Studies, recommended by the Dean of Health Studies;
  • A representative from the Office of Research, appointed by the Vice-President (Academic & Provost);
  • The institutional Biosafety Officer;
  • One or two community representatives to provide a source of expertise as an adjunct voting member.


Members of BUBC shall serve three-year terms.


  1. Develop relevant policies and approval procedures governing the use of biohazards on campus.
  2. Review and verify that Brandon University research proposals and Brandon University undergraduate and graduate courses involving the use of biohazardous materials adhere to the Public Health Agency of Canada’s Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency’s Containment Standards for Veterinary Facilities, and the Human Pathogens and Toxins Act through the checklists that are developed by this Committee.
  3. Report to and work with the Office of the Vice-President (Academic & Provost) to ensure the training on biosafety requirements and guidelines.